John Lee Hooker
  • Join the John Lee Hooker Mailing List

Face To Face

John Lee Hooker Face To Face



Face To Face


Face To Face

  1. Big Road ft. Tommy Johnson
  2. Dimples
  3. Loving People ft. Zakiya Hooker / Ollan Christopher Bell
  4. Face to Face
  5. Funky Mabel
  6. It Serves Me Right To Suffer
  7. Up and Down
  8. Mad Man Blues
  9. Six Page Letter
  10. Stop Jivin’ Me
  11. Mean Mean World ft. Zakiya Hooker / Ollan Christopher Bell
  12. Turn Over A New Leaf ft. Bernard Besman
  13. Wednesday Evening Blues
  14. Boogie Chillen’ ft. Bernard Besman
  15. Rock These Blues Away ft. Zakiya Hooker / Ollan Christopher Bell

From AllMusic View

Final Recordings, Vol. 1: Face to Face combines previously released material from John Lee Hooker with unfinished tracks he was working on before he died. Compiled by the estate of Hooker, with his daughter Zakiya at the helm, the unreleased material leans heavily toward soul-blues united with Hooker’s patented electric Delta boogie. “Loving People,” “Funky Mabel,” “Six Page Letter” (a ballad with synth strings), and “Rock These Blues Away” are highlights. Zakiya Hooker takes the spotlight on “Mean Mean World,” singing lead alongside her father, and the acoustic “Wednesday Evening Blues” features George Thorogood on guitar. Hooker staples “Dimples,” “It Serves Me Right to Suffer,” “Mad Man Blues,” and “Boogie Chillen” also make their perennial appearances. While there are no real surprises here, Face to Face still sounds great and is recommended alongside John Lee’s last official releases, Chill Out and Don’t Look Back, both on Pointblank.