John Lee Hooker
  • Join the John Lee Hooker Mailing List

January 13, 2020
Black Night Is Falling – Live at The Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club (Collectors Edition) Available For Streaming On February 7th, CD In-Stores February 21st!

We are proud to announce that John Lee Hooker’s Black Night is Falling – Live at The Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club (Collectors Edition) will be available on all streaming platforms on February 7th and on CD February 21st (pre-order link below)!

Recorded live in Montreal in 1977, the set includes the 17 minute jam of “Rock Steady” plus 3 “Rock Steady” remixes. The recording finds John Lee Hooker in fine voice and backed by a driving band composed of John Garcia on guitar, Steve Jones on bass, and Larry ‘Wild Man’ Martin on drums, with the end result being an excellent example of Hooker at his best. Highlights include impressive romps through Hooker’s signature tunes, ‘Boom Boom,’ which simply blazes with raw energy here, and ‘One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer,’ which is delivered as a wonderfully paced barroom cautionary tale. This is what the live Hooker sounded like with a sympathetic band behind him, a band that luckily wasn’t afraid to push him a little.

Track List:

  1. Chicken And Gravy
  2. Serves Me Right To Suffer
  3. Boom Boom
  4. Black Night Is Falling
  5. One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
  6. One Room Country Shack
  7. Rock Steady
  8. Rock Steady (Nerdstar Remix)
  9. Rock Steady (Parenthesis Remix)
  10. Rock Steady (Butter Remix)


CD Pre-Order: