John Lee Hooker
  • Join the John Lee Hooker Mailing List

November 29, 2019
Available Now For Record Store Day Black Friday, John Lee Hooker’s Black Night Is Falling: Live At The Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club, 2-LP Set

Available today, Record Store Day Black Friday, November 29th comes Black Night Is Falling: Live At The Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club. This 2-LP Collector’s Edition is limited to 4,000 copies and contains the previously unreleased, complete 17 minute, “Rock Steady” jam. The set also includes “Chicken And Gravy” which appears on no other John Lee Hooker album, plus 3 new bonus “Rock Steady” remixes.

On May 5, 1977 John Lee Hooker and his band were recorded at the Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club in Montreal, Quebec, Black Night Is Falling finds the King Of The Boogie in excellent voice and backed by a powerful band composed of John Garcia on guitar, Steve Jones on bass, and Larry “Wild Man” Martin on drums, with the end result being an outstanding example of live Hooker at his best. Highlights include impressive romps through two of Hooker’s signature tunes, “Boom Boom,” which simply blazes with raw energy here, and “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer,” which is delivered as a brilliantly paced barroom cautionary tale. This is what live Hooker sounded like with a sympathetic band behind him, a band that luckily wasn’t afraid to push him a little.

About Record Store Day: Record Store Day was conceived as a way to celebrate and spread the word about the unique culture surrounding nearly 1400 independently owned record stores in the US and thousands of similar stores internationally.
Available at your local independent record store on November 29th. Click for more information:

Side A
1. Chicken And Gravy
2. It Serves Me Right To Suffer
3. Boom Boom

Side B
1. Black Night Is Falling
2. One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
3. One Room Country Shack

Side C
1. Rock Steady (previously unreleased)

Side D
1. Rock Steady (NerdStar Remix) (previously unreleased)
2. Rock Steady (Parenthesis Remix) (previously unreleased)
3. Rock Steady (Butter Remix) (previously unreleased)